Imperialization

There are a few key events that have stood out in the past week or so. Sadly I don’t have pictures for many of them, but there are a few that should be interesting.

Saw this after the Schells Brewery tour

1. I spent the night at my new apartment for the first time last weekend. It was fantastic, my room is small and not totally organized yet. I’m still debating on a bed or futon… The living room is huge. Kevin and I have three couches plus the TV and there is still room to sit on the floor or for a coffee table. It’s just fantastic to have one roommate and a dog, even when that dog drives me nuts.

2. While spending the weekend in River Falls I found my favorite beer The Maharaja Imperial IPA from Avery. I found a video review of Maharaja at Beer Geek Nation. The guy in the video is a bit overwhelmed by the Maharaja but it’s still worth the watch. I took one bottle to the Lowertown First Friday show to share with my friends there. The second bottle I shared with my friend Mark after he shared his clubs and paid for my first trip to the driving range. What a pal! Drinking a glass of beer that is 10.5% alcohol after two hours golfing on one of the hottest days of the year means I was pretty buzzed when we went and got dinner with friends at Mariachi Loco…

3. That brings me to my first trip to the driving range. The short of this story is that I suck at golf… but damn is it a lot of fun. Despite Marks constant mocking of my abilities and the God awful heat, I blazed through about 70 balls. Once I quit just trying to cream the ball I found that a straight drive was possible but not that much fun. So I kept slicing shots about 180 yard and watching them hook onto the fairway of the hole next to the driving range… opps

4. I haven’t had much work this week due to issues outside my control. Thankfully my Dad decided to invite me along on a boring trip to New Ulm Minnesota so he could drop off some custom shoes for a patient. Well I didn’t have anything going on so I decided to go with. It wasn’t until about half way into the drive that I realized the Schells Brewery is in New Ulm and that my father is a sneaky genius.

Fear not, the man who appears to be having a heart attack is our tour guide.

The tour wasn’t as impressive as I had hoped but getting to see where some of my favorite local beers are brewed and sample quite a few was worth the three dollars. On top of all the the history of the brewery is quite impressive. Schells is the second oldest independent brewery in the nation. They brew Schells, Grainbelt, and Fitgers Labels along with 1919 rootbeer… Now thats pretty fantastic but what really impressed me is this…

FREE RANGING PEACOCKS!

You might not know this but Peacocks are my favorite animal on earth

It's like heaven !

Needless to say I was ecstatic and followed several of the birds around the grounds for quite a while…

Those are the highlights this week hopefully it will cool off this evening and I can ride my bike.

Enjoy the sunshine

My windshield is dirty...

About Ben

Nearing a quarter of a century in age and almost done with college. I make art, I drink beer, and I ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

